• Supt of Distinction The IASA is proud to have a program to recognize the outstanding performance of school superintendents in each of its 21 regions. The “Superintendents of Distinction” are selected by their peers in their region based on the criteria set forth by the AASA for its national Superintendent of the Year program. Those general criteria include:
    • Leadership for Learning;
    • Communication;
    • Professionalism; and
    • Community Involvement

    “In addition to honoring the Illinois Superintendent of the Year, our association’s highest honor, we wanted to publicly recognize the extraordinary efforts that so many of our superintendents are making all over the state,” said IASA Executive Director Dr. Brent Clark. “These are school leaders who make a difference day in and day out for their school districts, their communities and, most importantly, for their students.”

    The 2017 winners were invited to a joint awards luncheon with the Illinois Principals Association (IPA) hosted by the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) at the Inn at 835 in Springfield in April of 2017. A list of the 2017 winners is below:

    Abe Lincoln – Jilinda (Jill) Larson, Tri-City CUSD 1

    Blackhawk – Kyle R. Ganson, Colona District 190

    CIV – Dr. John Asplund, Farmington Central District 265

    Cook North – Dr. David R. Schuler, Township High School District 214

    Cook South – Dr. Darryl Taylor, Lincoln Elementary School District 156

    Cook West – Dr. Michael L. Kuzniewski, J. S. Morton District 201

    Corn Belt – Cliff McClure, Paxton-Buckley-Loda CUSD 10

    Du Page – Dr. Gwynne Kell, Winfield District 34

    Egyptian – Dr. Jason D. Henry, Sesser-Valier CUSD 196

    Illini – Dr. Donald D. Owen, Urbana District 116

    Kaskaskia – Rich Well, Vandalia CUSD 203

    Kishwaukee – Dr. Dan Oest, Richmond-Burton CHSD 157/Nippersink SD 2

    Lake – Julie A. Schmidt, Kildeer Countryside District 96

    Northwest – Dr. Thomas D. Mahoney, Oregon District 220

    Shawnee – Leslie Varble, Century District 100

    Southwestern – Dr. Gina Segobiano, Columbia CUSD 4

    Starved Rock – Dr. James (Jim) E. Carlson, Seneca High School District 160

    Three Rivers – Dr. Scott Goselin, Bradley District 61

    Two Rivers – Dr. Kerry L. Cox, Carrollton CUSD 1

    Wabash Valley – Timothy Buss, Wabash CUSD 348

    Western – K. Scot Reynolds, Spoon River Valley CUSD 4