• 2022 IASA Superintendents of Distinction

    Twenty-one superintendents across Illinois named 2022 Superintendents of Distinction were honored in May at a luncheon in Springfield. It was the eighth annual awards luncheon sponsored by Horace Mann Companies, Illinois Association of School Administrators, Illinois State Board of Education and Illinois Principals Association.

    Superintendents of Distinction are selected by their peers in each of the 21 different IASA regions based on leadership, communication, professionalism and community involvement.

    “Superintendents across Illinois navigated immense challenges this school year, so it really is an honor to standout and be recognized by your peers for outstanding leadership and elevating student success,” said IASA Executive Director Dr. Brent Clark. “Each of these superintendents are great examples of how strong leadership can improve the educational environment for students, strengthen communities and continuously push districts forward.”

     A list of the 2022 winners is below:
    • Abe Lincoln: DeAnn Heck, Central A&M CUD #21
    • Blackhawk: Shane Kazubowski, Wethersfield CUSD #230
    • Central Illinois Valley: Bob Bardwell, Congerville-Eureka-Goodfield CUSD #140
    • Cook North: Nancy Wagner, River Trails SD #26
    • Cook South: Von Mansfield, Homewood Flossmoor CHSD #233.
    • Cook West: Kim Petrasek, Mannheim SD #83
    • Corn Belt: Jeremy Darnell, Gibson City-Melvin Sibley CUSD #5
    • DuPage: Hank Thiele, CHSD #99
    • Egyptian: Jeff Fetcho, Hamilton County CUSD #10
    • Illini: Jeremy Larson, Paris-Union SD #95
    • Kaskaskia: Robin Brooks, Selmaville CCSD #10
    • Kishwaukee: Kathy Hinz, Crystal Lake CCSD #47
    • Lake: Donn Mendoza, Round Lake CUSD #116
    • Northwest: Jason Harper, Rochelle Twp HSD #212
    • Shawnee: Jami Hodge, Williamson Cty. Sp. Ed. Coop. #3
    • Southwestern: Dr. Darcy Benway, O'Fallon Twp HSD #203
    • Starved Rock: Steven Wrobleski, La Salle-Peru Twp HSD #120
    • Three Rivers: Dr. Lane Abrell, Plainfield SD #202
    • Two Rivers: Adam Dean, Triopia CUSD #27
    • Wabash Valley: Cathy Croy, Clay City CUSD #10
    • Western: Paula Markey, West Central CUSD #235